About The Department

The Department of Geology, established in 1892, is the oldest Geology teaching department in India. Over the century, students of this department have contributed substantially in various fields of geology, held key positions in the Indian mineral industries and have laudably played pioneering role in organising several university departments in the country and abroad.

The department at present runs one undergraduate (Honours) programme, two postgraduate and PhD programmes (in Applied Geology and Environmental System Science Management). In addition to the rich heritage of teaching at both UG & PG levels the department also pursues the long tradition of research in the frontiers of Geology. The department has successfully completed the first phase of DST-FIST programme in 2009. In appreciation of the successful completion of the first phase of FIST programme, the DST has recommended second phase FIST for the next five years. In recognition of the contribution in research the University Grants Commission, New Delhi, has also sanctioned the Centre for Advanced Studies (CAS) programme in the thrust area of “Precambrian Crutsal Evolution & Metallogeny” to the department for two successive terms from 2007 to 2017. Major objectives of the current CAS programme in phase-2 under the identified thrust area of Precambrian Crustal Evolution and Metallogeny’ have been earmarked as:

How to Find Us

Presidency University
(Main Campus)

86/1 College Street
Kolkata 700073

Presidency University
(2nd Campus)

Plot No. DG/02/02,
Premises No. 14-0358, Action Area-ID
New Town
(Near Biswa Bangla Convention Centre)
Contact details Presidency University Students Corner