Presidency University

About The Department

The Department of Physics has a rich tradition of excellent teaching and scholarly research. Its rigorous and broad-based undergraduate programme and dedicated faculty with wide-ranging research interests made it one of the best-known Physics departments in the country, producing a significant fraction of eminent Indian physicists of the last century. Currently, the department is in the process of a complete re-organisation of its teaching curriculum, laboratory facilities, building infrastructure and teaching and research faculty. The century-old Baker Laboratories is being rejuvenated to host modern research and teaching facilities.

In 2012, the IEEE awarded a Landmark plaque to Presidency University for the pioneering research of Professor Jagadis Chandra Bose FRS in generating and detecting microwaves in the department of Physics in the late 19th century, and distinguished alumnus Professor Ashoke Sen FRS was among the first awardees of the Fundamental Physics Prize, for his seminal work in String theory.

How to Find Us

Presidency University
(Main Campus)

86/1 College Street
Kolkata 700073

Presidency University
(2nd Campus)

Plot No. DG/02/02,
Premises No. 14-0358, Action Area-ID
New Town
(Near Biswa Bangla Convention Centre)
Contact details Presidency University Students Corner